Dreams 

Dreams – recently when I hear people say “follow your dreams and you’ll make it”. I’m often left thinking to myself-I used to dream big, are my dreams not extravagant enough anymore, why am I stuck in a 9-5? why haven’t I accomplished more? 

My one real big dream was to move to America to make a better life for myself. I grew up in one of the rougher parts of Kingston, Jamaica and knew early on that where I lived wasn’t where I belonged. Imagine living in a city where the one connection to your hood is this vast river bed that the cars have to pass thru to get you to the other side and when it rains it’s like real real life struggles. Anyways I knew that wasn’t the life I wanted and just before I turned 21 I made the move to America. Now everyone looks at me sideways when they find out I left my beautiful island to live in the cold of New England, but that’s how the universe conspired and here’s where I am. 

My dreams led me here and still I work to make whatever dreams I have a reality, I haven’t had any real big dreams lately but when I do you’ll find out! 

In the mean time, what are your dreams made of? 

Leave a Reply

